Receive updates about
your favorite tools
Relax! Spam is not our style.

Asana Review


Tired of struggling with “work about work”?

So were the creators of Asana. Their tool was created with the overall theme of creativity and simplicity.


Bottom Line

Asana is geared for small teams and intentionally ignores the rest. Made for organizing thoughts and small projects, this app is excellent for early start-ups and should never be overlooked. Its interface is visually appealing, sporting rich colors and animations. Users of this app are generally pleased with the occasional complaint about missing features, bugs, and speed.

Asana offers one of the best front-end designs we’ve ever seen. This application was built for the client. Upon first logging into Asana, the beautiful initialization process will make you feel right at home. Fast onboarding and instant task creation are crucial to the industry. We never felt like we were waiting around or sifting through unnecessary features.

After adding a few users and creating their projects, we were very happy with the way Asana handles the tasks themselves. The drag and drop interface makes rearranging and reassigning tasks a breeze. Each project has a conversation, calendar, progress tab, and file share. Task-following is a nifty feature that allows certain users who are not assignees to be notified of the progress of a task.

Unfortunately, there were not any “advanced” features with this app. The functionality of this application is very limited. We also have to mention the slow loading speeds and overall unreliability. Losing all of your progress due to an incorrect keystroke has plagued our team’s usage of this app. We also still have trouble with copying and pasting the simplest lines of text.

As you might imagine, Asana is also remarkably simple when it comes to pricing. This is a big positive in our books. No company offers a more inclusive free option, and their paid version is cheaper than most.

All things considered, this tool was not intended to have cluttered features or the reliability of an enterprise tool. We loved this tool as an easy task manangement solution.

8.2 Total Score
12 reviews
Beautiful task management

Great for small teams and accessible to anyone with the remarkable free version. Beautifully designed.

8.2Editor's score
Design
9.4
Functionality
7.5
Speed and reliability
7
Price
9
6.9User's score
Design
8.7
Functionality
5.9
Speed and reliability
5.3
Price
7.7
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • Quick setup
  • Interface
  • Free options
  • Personal
  • Templates
  • Integrations

CONS:
  • Missing functionality
  • Buggy
  • Single assignee tasks
  • Slow load times
  • No progress tracking
  • No task priority


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: FREE
Pricing model: Yearly subscription
Free trial of pro version: Unavailable

Free – $0
Up to 15 seats
Unlimited projects
Unlimited tasks
Communication tools
More

Professional – $8.33/user/month
Unlimited seats
Priority support
Export
Unlimited dashboards
More

back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What customer support options are offered?

  • Email support
  • Social media
  • Customer success program (Professional)
  • User’s guide
  • More

What add-ons does the app offer?

  • Android app
  • iOS app
  • Chrome extension
  • Email integration
  • Campaign monitor
  • Online document editing
  • Full list: https://asana.com/apps

What integrations does the app offer?

  • Slack
  • Google Drive
  • Box
  • Zapier
  • MailChimp
  • Full list: https://asana.com/apps

What languages does App support?

English
back to menu ↑

Testimonials

A lot of companies say they care about the success of their customers. Asana proves that they do. More
Allison Wheeler - Tiff's TreatsAllison Wheeler - Tiff's Treats

Our Customer Success Manager helped us get organized around projects like we never have before. More
Matt Turzo - LyftMatt Turzo - Lyft
Design
Dashboard stream
Quick create
Custom categories
Timeline
Drag and drop
Layout options
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priority scheduling
Custom statuses
Search filters
Multiple assignees
Multi-management
UI/UX design tools
Email notifications
Tagging
Insert images with text
Assign comments
Internal chat
File share
Mockup comments
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Pricing
Free
Free Pro Trial
Professional
Enterprise
8.2 Total Score
12 reviews
Beautiful task management

Great for small teams and accessible to anyone with the remarkable free version. Beautifully designed.

8.2Editor's score
Design
9.4
Functionality
7.5
Speed and reliability
7
Price
9
6.9User's score
Design
8.7
Functionality
5.9
Speed and reliability
5.3
Price
7.7
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

12 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Tony Jacobs
    November 16, 2016 at 1:18 am
    4.25
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    I LOVE ASANA!! Anyone reading should at least give it a try – it’s free. So much better than using trello

    + PROS: Great design Simple Cheap!!!
    - CONS: Can't assign multiple assignees :(
    Helpful(5) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. charles guan
    November 18, 2016 at 3:22 pm
    3.5
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    20
    Price
    100

    Asana is my personal task manager, but it’s not quite there for my company

    + PROS: Design, simple, cheap
    - CONS: Lacking features, slow, buggy
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(1)You have already voted this
  3. Duncan Avery
    November 22, 2016 at 3:23 pm
    4.1
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    Since using this tool we have been able to eliminate coordinating projects through email. It’s A LOT easier to just assign tasks and not having to chase emails back and forth. Marketing collaboration and productivity has increased significantly because there is less lost in translation.

    + PROS: -Can assign a task to multiple projects -Love the template feature to copy tasks to a new task -Drag and drop features are convenient
    - CONS: -Loads slow at times. -Hard to move subtasks out a level, especially when you want to move a task to a level that isn't the main project
    Helpful(4) Unhelpful(1)You have already voted this
  4. Mike Wolfe
    November 26, 2016 at 1:06 am
    3.5
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    70

    If youre all about aesthetics youve probably made your decision however if youre concerned with features and functionality the story might be a bit different. Asana offers two packages to choose from and they do work with small sized teams when calculating your cost as this is done on a per member basis …. oh and on an annual commitment. You can’t go wrong with this tool for your first real task manager

    + PROS: 24/7 support
    - CONS: free trial is deceiving as functions are VERY limited
    Helpful(4) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Caleb Jennings
    November 28, 2016 at 6:11 pm
    2
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    20
    Speed and reliability
    20
    Price
    20

    We were hoping that upgrading to the pro version would give us more features… just stick with the free option

    + PROS: Easy, simple, what we needed
    - CONS: Doesn't feel like the paid version should cost more money?
    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(2)You have already voted this
  6. Sujon Singh
    December 4, 2016 at 12:24 am
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    my team has been using asana for almost a year and it’s time to move on. a more sophisticated tool is required for our exciting growth!

    + PROS: internal chat system
    - CONS: no dekstop version
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(2)You have already voted this
  7. Cecil Ward
    December 8, 2016 at 5:45 pm
    3.5
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    80

    As a whole, it is a handy way to compile to do lists and keep an eye on other people’s to do lists.

    + PROS: It's easy to create teams, build lists and add tasks. Very simple to use.
    - CONS: There's very limited automations. I do not like that you can only sort tasks by Today, Upcoming, and Later. I would like a little more flexibility in organizing my tasks and the importance of each.
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Andy Mabe
    December 22, 2016 at 4:32 pm
    3.5
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    70

    Asana has the look and feel exactly where it should be, but they are lacking with many frustrating issues that slow my team down. I hope they can get these issue fixed soon!

    + PROS: Great UI! Love the look and feel of the tool.
    - CONS: Extremely bugging and frustrating to use. Very long load times and annoying issues with normal use.
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Taylor Drietlein
    March 7, 2017 at 10:40 pm
    4.35
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    100

    I have a team of 5 that needed something simple. Asana is PERFECT

    + PROS: FREE
    - CONS: pretty basic
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. Dez Blanchfield
    April 19, 2017 at 3:09 pm
    3.1
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    30
    Price
    70

    Overall this is a good tool, but the problems are strong enough to bring my overall outlook of Asana down. The free version is pretty effective if you are looking for a very simple solution for a small team. If you take project management serious, I would suggest you look at some other options.

    + PROS: Great Design, which is my favorite part of the tool. The look and feel of the product is strong. They also have most needed functionality for a decent price.
    - CONS: My big issues here is speed. The loading times are annoyingly slow, to the point that it actually takes away from productivity. I'm unclear as to who why they haven't fixed this yet.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Timothy Bollinger
    June 6, 2017 at 3:46 pm
    2.6
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    40
    Price
    50

    Our team has used this app for over 2 years and have always found it effective in communicating a project. The integration of apps are top notch, especially instagantt !!!

    + PROS: I love that it holds all the information I need in one place and you can create a due date. You can share with others, add tasks for others, and comment on the project so that everyone is updated
    - CONS: I cannot think of any cons for the moment. Maybe the google extension could be improve by adding the possibility to assign the task to a project and to add a due date. And maybe a gmail extension could be introduce as well...
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. Brandon Brodkin
    June 14, 2017 at 5:00 pm
    3.6
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    40
    Price
    90

    Asana is cheaper than Liquid Planner, but simply doesn’t have enough features for the Enterprise level. I also don’t think they could handle that many tasks, whereas it’s slow with just my projects.

    + PROS: Great look and feel. Easy to pick up and use!
    - CONS: SLOW. Takes a while to load my projects. Also very basic in that you can't change text and it's hard to organize tasks.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare