JIRA Review


Features, add-ons, and integrations.

This enterprise-oriented platform is extremely feature-rich with advanced functionality that is not found in other platforms.

Bottom Line

This tool is backed by over 10 years of company experience, and the newest iteration has received a visual overhaul! This was highly requested from Atlassian, as JIRA’s feature set is already plush.

JIRA offers Agile, Scrum, and Kanban boards to manage your projects and tasks. Most users agree that the features of this tool are complicated at first but offer very powerful implications. Extensions and plugins can make this tool do ANYthing, and Atlassian offers a marketplace just for this with over 1,000 add-ons.

When you first sign into JIRA you will be prompted with three options – create a sample project, create a new project, or import issues. We suggest loading a sample project to see what a full set of data will look like to give yourself a headstart. The overall layout is very basic. Immediately you will notice that this tool was created for advanced users and offers some exceptional features. Once acclimated to JIRA you will find that there are limitless opportunities to create beautiful tasks for your team.

We love that JIRA integrates with GitHub to link your tasks with commits. Custom analytic reports are another great advanced feature that we have not seen elsewhere. The powerful project searches allow you to assign any filters and help find exacly what you need. Project templates allow users to quickly start new tasks with a customized setup. This tool is also backed by an enterprise-grade safe, secure, reliable, and speedy backend.

A very plain interface defines the workspace. This is our biggest complaint with the software. Because your employees (and yourself) will be spending so much time with the tool, it ought to look pretty – or at least be intuitive. We are also not very fond of the cluttered features that require time to master. A more instinctual layout would increase the value of this product ten-fold, though, Atlassian provides plenty of documentation for your team to read and learn. They also provide a wiki add-on called Confluence where you can store all task documentation.

JIRA feels like an enterprise tool brought to the masses. For this reason, we were very surprised to see that the tool has comparable pricing tiers. All pricing options include the same features and increments in price only based on the number of seats you need. You are able to host JIRA on your own server or store your data to their cloud for an additional annual fee.

7.4 Total Score
15 reviews
Powerful

The safety, security, and reliability of this tool are unmatched, and vast improvements to both design and ease of use in recent times is a plus. Pricing is very pleasing to large and small teams alike.

7.4Editor's score
Design
5
Functionality
10
Speed and reliability
8.8
Price
5.8
6.2User's score
Design
4.8
Functionality
7.5
Speed and reliability
7
Price
5.5
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • Strong search filters
  • Customizable
  • Text notifications
  • Issue alerts
  • Agile, scrum, kanban
  • Extentions, integrations, plugins

CONS:
  • Overall complexity
  • Poor interface
  • Impersonal
  • Dated
  • Unintuitive
  • Poor extension manager


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: $10
Pricing model: Monthly subscription
Free trial of pro version: Available

Small team $10 – Large team $1,500
Agile, scrum, kanban boards
1,000+ add-ons
Developer tool integrations
Rich APIs
Cloud, server, data center deployment
More
back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What customer support options are offered?

  • Email support
  • Documentation
  • Expert moderated forums
  • Video guides
  • More

What add-ons does the app offer?

  • Android app
  • iOS app
  • Over 1,000 add-ons in their marketplace
  • “Build your own” options
  • Atlassian Cloud
  • Confluence wiki

What languages does App support?

English, French, Japanese, Spanish, and German. Plugins are available for many other languages.
back to menu ↑

Testimonials

We could use JIRA Software right out of the box, but the fact that we can extend it and write against its API really allows my team to get exactly what we need from JIRA. More
Simon Thorpe - TwilioSimon Thorpe - Twilio
With Atlassian, we’ve increased efficiency by about 33% and improved visibility and morale. Now work isn’t lost and time isn’t wasted. More
Brian Gress - HayneedleBrian Gress - Hayneedle



Design
Dashboard stream
Quick create
Custom categories
Timeline
Drag and drop
Layout options
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priority scheduling
Custom statuses
Search filters
Multiple assignees
Multi-management
UI/UX design tools
Email notifications
Tagging
Insert images with text
Assign comments
Internal chat
File share
Mockup comments
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Pricing
Free
Free Pro Trial
Professional
Enterprise
7.4 Total Score
15 reviews
Powerful

The safety, security, and reliability of this tool are unmatched, and vast improvements to both design and ease of use in recent times is a plus. Pricing is very pleasing to large and small teams alike.

7.4Editor's score
Design
5
Functionality
10
Speed and reliability
8.8
Price
5.8
6.2User's score
Design
4.8
Functionality
7.5
Speed and reliability
7
Price
5.5
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

15 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Karl Fernandez
    November 16, 2016 at 1:25 am
    4
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    100

    JIRA offers great pricing and they even give a free week trial to test out. Their boards are what really holds value although they could update their UX/UI and we would have a perfect product

    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Johnathan Andrews
    November 17, 2016 at 10:50 pm
    4.1
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    90

    our team has been using atlassian products since day one and would not choose any other software for agile tools

    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. George Farren
    November 25, 2016 at 5:56 pm
    3.35
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    Easy to assign large projects, various tasks as a team, and see progress. Has helped our engineers track where they were spending their time. JIRA can be time consuming and it would be nice if there were simple tasks.

    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Bharet Malhotra
    November 30, 2016 at 2:16 am
    3
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    50

    This could be a strong tool, but the design and complexity hold it back from being great. Also the price is pretty outrageous. You can pay for two other tools for the price of JIRA. Also, there is a very low chance most of your team adopts well due to how complicated it is.

    + PROS: -Great workflows -Awesome Wiki Page Setup
    - CONS: -Terrible and basic design -Price is way too high -Adoption for my team is low because it is just way to complicated
    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Preston Abernathy
    December 6, 2016 at 5:10 pm
    3.1
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    60

    Jira is ahead of many other companies in this space due to their extensive workflows. They can be complicated but are impressive when you figure them out. I just want them to work on the look and feel and drop the price. If they can do those two things Jira will be in good shape.

    + PROS: Workflows are a plus, not many others have them. Jira created the product with tech companies in mind for sure.
    - CONS: Not great to look at and could be easier to use. Pretty expensive if you have a big team like I do.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. Darrius Jack
    January 17, 2017 at 3:53 pm
    0.5
    Design
    0
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    0
    Price
    0

    Even after months of using JIRA it is way to bogged down and cluttered with unnecessary features and options.

    I always feel like I’m forgetting something or miss-using features. Very frustrating

    + PROS: Tons of functionality
    - CONS: IMPOSSIBLE TO NAVIGATE
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Donald Fuchs
    January 17, 2017 at 3:59 pm
    4
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Great tool for tracking projects.

    + PROS: JIRA has made several improvements in the latest release that have made me enjoy it a little more.
    - CONS: Sometimes can be intimidating for a non technical user.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Alexis Molina
    January 17, 2017 at 4:50 pm
    3.25
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    70

    Atlassian products are always solid in our book, we recently heard news of them acquiring trello so high hopes of them getting better than ever in the near future!

    + PROS: free trial version, established in the PM industry, agile/scrum/kanban boards
    - CONS: unnecessary add-ons and functions start to feel overwhelming
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Tim Branch
    June 12, 2017 at 7:36 pm
    3
    Design
    20
    Functionality
    100
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    20

    JIRA is “advanced project management” but I just don’t see the appeal even if you are an “advanced” user. There are just too many other good options out there which are much more simple and effective.

    + PROS: Contains every feature possible
    - CONS: Too complicated
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. Todd Kane
    July 6, 2017 at 2:42 pm
    2.6
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    30

    Great way to stay organized and collaborate with your team. Unfortunately, it took a long time for a few team members to get acclimated.

    + PROS: Great for time tracking, users can have different schemes, Kan-ban style, integrations, customizable dashboard
    - CONS: Pricey, steep learning curve, no way to assign more than one person to a task.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Ashby Moore
    July 20, 2017 at 12:59 pm
    2.6
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    It is a great project management tool which can be used by all the teams especially for the teams which follow agile methodology. Unfortunately, a lot of people in my company find JIRA too difficult to understand. Also, if a user starts a task or issue they cannot be removed from the issue and are notified on every update until it is closed. At larger companies this may be helpful but at smaller ones like mine it can be more bothersome than helpful.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. Maryanne Pederson
    August 4, 2017 at 1:21 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    Great software but comes with a learning curve

    + PROS: I really like the dashboard that allows me to easily see tasks that need attention and overall project list. Also, I like that this software has features that make organizing tasks related to a single project very simple.
    - CONS: I sometimes find that comments on individual tasks get lost in my comment feed causing me to have to go through my notification and make sure I didn't miss anything.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  13. Ryan Elkins
    September 6, 2017 at 1:26 pm
    2.75
    Design
    20
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    50

    Our developers love this tool for managing their tasks and projects. Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan of the software. The UI is terrible and while they offer a lot of features that are beneficial to us, it can sometimes be annoying as it takes forever to learn how to use everything thats available. We’ve had this software for a couple months now and I’m still learning my way around the tool.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  14. Kabir Frutos
    September 25, 2017 at 6:13 pm
    4.1
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    80

    Easy way for us to manage software-tickets, communicate with co-workers and to customize our own workflow

    + PROS: Agile methods of working, lots of add ins to provide extra functionality, great for project tracking and pulling stats for business, ticket system.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  15. Stan Kellog
    October 18, 2017 at 3:38 pm
    2.75
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    30

    Smooths and centralizes communication

    + PROS: Lots of features, tools and options. It is great if you have overseas teams or team members that do not work directly in your office
    - CONS: Pricey. Not very easy to learn. They offer many tutorials but it is very time consuming to go through all of their on line university.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare