PivotalTracker Review


Unique and experienced agile project management.

Supercharge your team with focused, story-based collaboration. Quick agile adoption with a proven process.


Bottom Line

Pivotal Tracker is easy to use agile project management that assists in focused collaboration for software development teams. Every user shares the same knowledge base within a project enabling complete transparency. This allows users to proceed with work without having to constantly be reporting their progress, and team managers are able to easily assess the progress within their project.

Pivotal Tracker brings the enhanced communication of Clarizen and the functionality of Teamwork. If you are an agile software developer, you are likely to fall in love with the efficiency, simplicity, and user-friendliness of this app. For the rest of the world, this application does not offer as many perks as some of their competitors. I suggest taking a look at one of our top apps if you are not in the agile project management industry.

When you are first brought into the Pivotal Tracker workspace, you are provided with the option to create a new project or see a sample project. I always suggest choosing the sample project so you can get a feel for how the tool will look when it’s in full swing. You will then be shown the “most-used” areas in your space. After this, we suggest exploring around to see if their unique setup would benefit your team.

Standout features offered by Pivotal Tracker include a universal overview which allows everyone in the team to see a “managerial” perspective on the project, the open API is a welcome sight to most developers who will be spending the majority of their day using this software, and workflows that are optimized for estimating time to completion for all tasks and projects.

Pivotal Tracker can be used by large enterprise companies, but the tool is optimized for smaller groups within an organization. Project specific groups to be exact. This is reflected on their pricing page which is a bit different. See the pricing page below or at PivotalTracker.com.

7.1 Total Score
17 reviews
Build better software, faster.

Pivotal Tracker is the tool of choice for many software companies that utilize the Agile project management structure, however, if you are looking for a more comprehensive tool, you'll want to check out other options first. This app is highly specialized and utilizes unique terminology that most teams will not be familiar with.

7.1Editor's score
Design
7.5
Functionality
6.3
Speed and reliability
7.4
Price
7.2
6.5User's score
Design
6.2
Functionality
7
Speed and reliability
7
Price
6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • Agile
  • Open API
  • Tracking and priority
  • Intuitive design
  • Universal view
  • Mobile app

CONS:
  • Inflexibility
  • Poor pricing structure
  • Estimation inaccuracy
  • Agile ONLY
  • Odd terminology
  • Lacking in features


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: FREE
Pricing model: Monthly or annually
Free trial of pro version: Available

FREE
Up to 3 users
2GB storage
2 projects

Startup (small) – $12.50/month
5 collaborators
5 private projects
5GB storage

Startup (large) – $29.10/month
10 collaborators
10 private projects
25GB storage

Pro (small) – $62.50/month
15 collaborators
Unlimited private projects
Unlimited storage

Pro (medium) – $125.00/month
25 collaborators
Unlimited private projects
Unlimited storage

Pro (large) – $250.00/month
50 collaborators
Unlimited private projects
Unlimited storage

Enterprise – Contact Pivotal Tracker

back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What integrations does the app offer?

  • Twitter
  • Google apps
  • Campfire
  • Web hooks
  • JIRA
  • Zendesk

What customer support options are offered?

  • Email
  • Documentation
  • Training videos

What languages does App support?

English
back to menu ↑

Testimonials

I honestly don’t know what I would do without Tracker because no other tool feels like it moves at the speed with which we move, or tightness of coordination.
Thor Muller - CIO at Off-Grid ElectricThor Muller - CIO at Off-Grid Electric
Our goal is to have the cloud seamless and transparent – so our customers, employees and IT team don’t have to care about the technology underlying delivery of the service.
Bob Young - CTO at Southwest AirlinesBob Young - CTO at Southwest Airlines



Design
Dashboard
Quick task create
Custom hierarchy
Drag and drop
Different views
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priorities
Custom statuses
Sort and filter
Multiple assignees
Multi-task manage
Smart notifications
Tags
Rich text
Assign comments
File assets
Resource management
Time tracking
Task linking
Issue tracking
Start and due dates
Agenda
Recurring tasks
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Machine learning
Pricing
Free
Trial
Professional
Enterprise
7.1 Total Score
17 reviews
Build better software, faster.

Pivotal Tracker is the tool of choice for many software companies that utilize the Agile project management structure, however, if you are looking for a more comprehensive tool, you'll want to check out other options first. This app is highly specialized and utilizes unique terminology that most teams will not be familiar with.

7.1Editor's score
Design
7.5
Functionality
6.3
Speed and reliability
7.4
Price
7.2
6.5User's score
Design
6.2
Functionality
7
Speed and reliability
7
Price
6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

17 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Neha Patel
    February 2, 2017 at 10:17 pm
    3.75
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    I love Pivotal. Our development team was hesitant to adopt a brand new program like this, but we are so glad we did. Highly recommended for software companies!

    + PROS: Great for our technical team
    - CONS: I have to look up term definitions sometimes
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Fredric Lombardi
    February 10, 2017 at 9:32 pm
    2
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    20

    We were looking for a more all-encompassing tool. Like Neha said, if you are a software team, this will likely work for you

    + PROS: Software
    - CONS: Most anything else
    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. A J
    February 14, 2017 at 11:31 pm
    2.75
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    Hot name in PM but not the best fit for our team. I think we are going with Asana

    + PROS: Great for Agile
    - CONS: Not great for marketing
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Taylor Drietlein
    February 18, 2017 at 7:10 pm
    3.1
    Design
    20
    Functionality
    100
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    80

    I have a team of 5 that needs a simple, easy to use tool. Any suggestions?

    + PROS: Great for a large "advanced" team
    - CONS: Too bulky for real users
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Jared Jones
    March 26, 2017 at 8:28 pm
    5
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    100
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    100

    they’ve made agile development perfect!

    + PROS: optimized agile dev
    - CONS: not much tbh
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(1)You have already voted this
  6. Dez Blanchfield
    April 19, 2017 at 3:44 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    70

    At the end of the day, this is a strong tool if you are looking for a tool that everyone on your team can use.

    + PROS: PT has the features needed to get the job done. They are a strong competitor in this space and will be around for a while.
    - CONS: No large issues here just things I think they could easily improve. For example, the UI could use some reworking. I also think they could add a few more features but nothing major.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Ivan Maldonado
    June 6, 2017 at 4:43 pm
    3.5
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    20

    We love Pivotal for dev, but our team is growing and our other departments dread spending another year on agile

    + PROS: Well priced; Great for agile; Fits our team
    - CONS: I guess not very flexible
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
    • Tamra Goldstein
      July 5, 2017 at 7:43 pm
      2.85
      Design
      70
      Functionality
      60
      Speed and reliability
      50
      Price
      50

      Agreed. Great scrum/sprint management, however, my team is looking for a more hybrid or flexible methodology.

      Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Michelle Harp
    June 13, 2017 at 2:47 pm
    3.1
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    50

    Pivotal Tracker has great features, however, I’m not too impressed by the UI. The screen can get crowded and extremely cluttered. We’re not a software company and this tool just seems too convoluted for us right now. Currently on here looking for a more easy to use customizable tool.

    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Roger Mukai
    August 1, 2017 at 1:28 pm
    2.85
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    A good agile option

    + PROS: Easy to use, intuitive,offers a wide range of functionality. You can easily assign tasks to different team members, and see who is responsible for which tasks at a glance.
    - CONS: Based around the agile methodology, so their prebuilt workflows have a lot of assumptions about how your team will be operating. Would like this tool to have a little more customization options.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. Donna Wilson
    September 5, 2017 at 3:20 pm
    2.5
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    50

    A great software for developers..other team members don’t like to use it.

    + PROS: Great for tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.
    - CONS: Works best if you stick to a specific method of agile project management.
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Faiz Shah
    September 26, 2017 at 4:32 pm
    2.85
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    We use pivotal tracker to handle development and design sprints at our web software startup.

    + PROS: Good feature set
    - CONS: Pivotal tracker has a really cluttered UI, which can be very distracting if you have a large number of items or team members.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. krogers@gmail.com
    October 18, 2017 at 6:40 pm
    3.35
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. It’s collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  13. Greg Olsen
    October 27, 2017 at 5:01 pm
    3.85
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Great for dev teams

    + PROS: Assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.
    - CONS: Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  14. Kyle Johnson
    November 13, 2017 at 6:23 pm
    3.75
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    90

    Great value for the cost! Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility.For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn’t been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  15. Charlie Mann
    November 29, 2017 at 2:07 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    60

    I used it to track my team’s project execution

    + PROS: Allows project managers, developers and clients to be at one place and see the overview of a project.
    - CONS: Tons of information all in one screen. It could be very intimidating too look at if you're new to the software so a little getting used too is needed.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  16. Bill Sandvig
    December 8, 2017 at 3:48 pm
    3.6
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    Great for keeping track of team’s work that is commuted for a sprint and planning ahead future sprints. Need a way highlight design work and dev work independently and connect stories. Developing new features for our cloud platform and fixing bugs identified by users

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare