Podio Review



Smart, sophisticated, practical.

There is nothing conventional about Podio. They offer a fully customized approach tailored to the style of any project management team.


podioinuse

Bottom Line

Podio is so much more than a project management software. Their design and vision for team productivity helps their customers to work collectively as a team and get more done.

The apps offered by Podio allow more customizability than any I’ve seen in my line of work. At Podio, the apps are similar to templates for workflows – telling your users what is necessary for a collection of tasks – all defined by your needs.

Custom reporting is a HUGE advantage with this tool. Take characteristics of your team or the apps you’ve created and quickly configure advanced analytics that actually matter. Unfortunately, task management is an afterthought with Podio. This platform will not hold up well for sophisticated operations requiring more complex tasks – not ideal for software development. We feel that Podio is like the combination of Clarizen and Wrike but optimized for smaller teams.

I go back and forth on onboarding ease with Podio. For those who are tech-savvy, this will be a quick learn with boundless opportunities. For everyone else, the task of learning this app will be daunting. I feel that most users will find Podio too labor intensive and complicated for everyday use, however, if you are working with an A-team (as you should be) this won’t be an issue.

Podio is an excellent option for any niche operation requiring high levels of customizablity. Businesses with few employees that wear many hats will find the greatest benefit with this software.

7.7 Total Score
14 reviews
Custom everything

Podio is a layered, multifaceted program and once you've acclimated to the environment, the possibilities are endless.

7.7Editor's score
Design
8
Functionality
7.6
Speed and reliability
8.8
Price
6.5
6.3User's score
Design
6.2
Functionality
6.7
Speed and reliability
6.5
Price
5.9
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • App market
  • Intuitive
  • Customizable
  • Great support
  • Communication
  • App designer

CONS:
  • Complicated
  • Limited tracking
  • No archiving
  • No markup tools
  • Slow onboarding
  • Not task-centered


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: FREE
Pricing model: Monthly and annual
Free trial: Available

Free
5 users
5 external members
Workspaces
Apps

Basic – $9/user/month
Unlimited users
Unlimited external members
User management
Task management

Plus – $14/user/month
Light user role
Automated workflows
Read-only access

Premium – $24/user/month
Visual reports
Contact sync
Interactive sales dashboards
Advanced Mobile Forms
Advanced Workflow Orchestration

Enterprise – Contact Podio
Encrypted file sharing
Large file storage
Unlimited e-signatures
Document sending
Priority support & training

back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What integrations does the app offer?

  • Box
  • Dropbox
  • Excel
  • Google Drive
  • Zapier
  • Onedrive
  • Zendesk

What customer support options are offered?

  • Email
  • Training sessions
  • Demos
  • Social Media
  • Blog

What languages does App support?

Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Danish, and English!
back to menu ↑

Testimonials

They have streamlined their sign-off process using category fields in the Creatives app. A simple report lets the responsible people quickly filter on the creatives they need to approve before they can go live. Now the team can launch creatives quickly and jobs no longer get held up in the previously arduous approval process.
Alastair Douglas - TotallyMoneyAlastair Douglas - TotallyMoney
Podio’s flexibility suits us perfectly as we can keep on developing the different apps as we evolve. I can gather all the information about our members in a centralized place, categorize them, and organize how they’re targeted with the most relevant communications.
Mads Qvist Frederiksen - MADEMads Qvist Frederiksen - MADE



Design
Dashboard stream
Quick create
Custom categories
Timeline
Drag and drop
Layout options
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priority scheduling
Custom statuses
Search filters
Multiple assignees
Multi-management
UI/UX design tools
Email notifications
Tagging
Insert images with text
Assign comments
Internal chat
File share
Mockup comments
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Pricing
Free
Free Pro Trial
Professional
Enterprise
7.7 Total Score
14 reviews
Custom everything

Podio is a layered, multifaceted program and once you've acclimated to the environment, the possibilities are endless.

7.7Editor's score
Design
8
Functionality
7.6
Speed and reliability
8.8
Price
6.5
6.3User's score
Design
6.2
Functionality
6.7
Speed and reliability
6.5
Price
5.9
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

14 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Lance Burchett
    December 12, 2016 at 5:24 pm
    3.5
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    70

    If your team will commit a few days to learn this tool, Podio will prove an excellent investment.

    + PROS: Fairly (keyword) easy to personalize, especially concerning how the homepage is organized.
    - CONS: Very difficult to find old conversations or documents. Lots of clicking involved. To many options on the page at once that didn't fit on the screen and wasn't accommodating for drag and drop features.
    Helpful(4) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Thomas Lowe
    December 17, 2016 at 4:22 pm
    3.25
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    70

    I don’t like that lists can’t be pre-loaded, or easily searched. I like the filters I can add, however sometimes they don’t work either. The reporting needs integration with other apps or software, to get that real CRM Dashboard look/feel. That being said, Podio offers a great free version of their application that allows you to get a feel for the product and how to make it work for you.

    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. Timothy Vanyo
    December 17, 2016 at 11:03 pm
    3.75
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    Podio has gone the extra mile to include features and integrations the average project management tool lacks. Some people may complain about the learning curve but I personally think its not so difficult and well worth the time

    + PROS: fair pricing
    - CONS: could use a reports section
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Paul Warren
    December 22, 2016 at 4:19 pm
    3.6
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    70

    Podio could still use some improvements, but is definitely a step up from our past project management tools!

    + PROS: Great features and Integrations and price doesn't break the bank!
    - CONS: Searching for old task can be tough and they need reporting.
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Alberto Levy
    January 2, 2017 at 5:02 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    50

    Podio has everything you might need. After looking through this site I do feel as if the design of other tools are better. My team is split down the middle on the product overall. Some love it and some say it is too hard to use.

    + PROS: Strong tool and has everything you need.
    - CONS: A little complicated and pricey compared to others in the market.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. Jenny Manchester
    January 13, 2017 at 3:04 pm
    1.75
    Design
    40
    Functionality
    20
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    20

    If you need a dedicated task manager, then I suggest one of the other apps on this site. Podio is different. They are more socal and encompass more than just task management.

    + PROS: Well built software that has some big names behind them
    - CONS: Not a dedicated task manager
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Anthony Collins
    January 16, 2017 at 4:38 pm
    3.1
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    50

    If you customize podio enough to your liking there will be ZERO disappointment. This platform has potential to compete with other leaders in the industry like JIRA and ClickUP

    + PROS: easy data import, free trial, integration of other tools
    - CONS: lack of time tracking
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Manuel Melendez
    June 13, 2017 at 2:46 pm
    3.35
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    60

    Our team has recently started to use the software as a hub for members within the community. That being said, there is a specified portion for members to post their progress, another with trainings and documents, a section with resources, and a section with partnerships. After creating and customizing the perfect podio dashboard, you can see everything at the top and navigate through. It is honestly a key part because nothing is better than a platform that makes it so easy to understand and navigate through to what you need in that moment

    + PROS: multi-purpose software that covers tracking projects, tasks, bugs/feature changes and user support tickets
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Cindy Eckert
    July 7, 2017 at 1:08 pm
    3.1
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    We have been able to streamline workflow with Podio

    + PROS: Collaboration, streamline workflow, good client view, chat systems, due dates
    - CONS: Learning curve for beginners, expensive for larger businesses and the price increases over time is what I've heard from colleagues, bugs, customer service is not very responsive.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. Harold Gragg
    July 17, 2017 at 12:18 pm
    2.85
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    50

    This is a great tool with a lot of features. Takes a little bit to get set up and work out the details of how you’ll use it best, but once you’ve got the ground work laid, it is a great long-term solution.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Jack Whelan
    August 3, 2017 at 2:11 pm
    3.35
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    Lots of capabilities with this tool

    + PROS: Ease of use Price point (free option)
    - CONS: Would love the ability to print pdf reports instead of just exporting Excel files
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. Garrett Teller
    August 31, 2017 at 12:51 pm
    3.25
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    70

    Not impressed with this software and will be looking for other options soon.

    + PROS: Simple system.
    - CONS: Customer Support is TERRIBLE and the management of high record counts is buggy. Would love the ability to print pdf reports instead of just exporting Excel files
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  13. sandra crampton
    September 23, 2017 at 9:45 pm
    2.35
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    40
    Price
    50

    Currently using Podio. There are some minor concessions I have had to make (namely the reports suck).

    + PROS: Adding, assigning, tracking tasks is easy. javascript functions, flexible, cloud-based
    - CONS: Slow and Customer Service is not good! Would like to be able to print pdf reports - reports in general could really use some work.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  14. cbrannen@gmail.com
    October 11, 2017 at 2:52 pm
    3.6
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    70

    Reliable communication with the team through the chat function. Good personal task management and also knowledge management.

    + PROS: I like the ability to create your own widgets that fit your needs. I also like the ability to put project information all in one space and have custom fields to put information based on your needs.
    - CONS: Can't see all projects all at once. They are divided out by client/workspace. There is not way to have a master list of all projects across all workspaces.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  15. Angela Pinkerd
    October 20, 2017 at 5:56 pm
    Comment awaiting for approval
    3.6
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    60

    This streamlined our lead intake process, helped us better achieve our sales goals, and took our professionalism to a new level.

    + PROS: -Task management settings are excellent (even if i don't use it as much as i should, adding, assigning and tracking tasks is a breeze) -The recent calculation field javascript functions are a life-saver!
    - CONS: -Onboarding no so intuitive -Has limited app permissions
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare