Basecamp Review


Six pillars of task management

Basecamp utilizes their six pillars of task management which involve team chat, message boards, to-dos, scheduling, check-ins, and file sharing. These are all handled in a simple user interface that clients love.


Bottom Line

After finishing all of our research, I have to say that I fell in love with the vibe of this company. They offer upfront pricing with no hidden fees and no cancellation penalties. The customer is unmistakably their number one priority.

The most notable features include a smooth, speedy interface that is free of bugs. Their dashboard layout naturally compresses projects and tasks into their simple structure for your team to devour. Clients are always impressed with the speed and reliability of this tool – no more lost work!

Upon signing up for the free trial, Basecamp immediately provides you with a filled out sample “Basecamp” (aka project) to play around with and provides a very informative and clear tutorial. The dashboard layout is a visual representation of their six core features laid out in tiles. These six pillars are a great way to organize your projects, however, the layout feels less professional other options we tested with an overall playful feel.

  • Campfires – chat/discussion area for the whole group to stay up-to-date
  • Message Board – centralized personal chat/update area for all the tasks you are a part of
  • To dos – your personal checklist
  • Schedule – your personal calendar
  • Automatic Check-ins – a place to provide updates about what you have accomplished
  • Docs & Files – Where all task-related files are stored

The biggest drawbacks are the lack of important features necessary for any larger/growing companies, no customizations, dated website, and no “project” management tools such as time tracking or budgeting.

Basecamp 3 offers unlimited users and projects with any pricing model – no more paying for adding to your team. Clients love Basecamp’s no-surprise price tiers without upsells or sneaky fine-print.

8.1 Total Score
18 reviews
Love this company

Basecamp gets the job done. We are amazed at how snappy and reliable this platform is. The only weaknesses are features and integrations.

8.1Editor's score
Design
6.8
Functionality
7.6
Speed and reliability
10
Price
8.1
6.1User's score
Design
6
Functionality
5.7
Speed and reliability
7
Price
6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • Simple pricing
  • No hidden fees
  • Simple design
  • Smooth and reliable
  • Unlimited users and tasks
  • Speedy interface

CONS:
  • Limited features
  • Non-customizable
  • No time tracking
  • Ugly dashboard
  • No budgeting
  • No analytics


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: $99
Pricing model: Subscription
Free trial of pro version: Available

Standard – $99/month
Unlimited users
Unlimited projects
100GB storage
More

Enterprise – contact Basecamp
Guaranteed uptime
Team demo
Unlimited users
Unlimited projects
2TB storage
More

back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What customer support options are offered?

  • Ticket support
  • Social media
  • User’s guide
  • Live sessions
  • Sample project outline
  • More

What add-ons does the app offer?

  • Android app
  • iOS app
  • Mac app
  • Windows app

What integrations does the app offer?

  • Basecamp does not currently offer integrations or an API

What languages does App support?

Basecamp 3 is available in English only
back to menu ↑

Testimonials

Keeping track of comments, approvals, and project history. Great to have them there in one place, and to be able to review decisions as our projects move forward. More
Steve Bisbikis - Outward HoundSteve Bisbikis - Outward Hound
Everyone is always on the same page. And when they aren’t, it’s because they didn’t check Basecamp that morning. Miscommunication is rarely a problem now, and we can always keep the focus on moving forward. More
Henrique Landim - Rowlbertos MediaHenrique Landim - Rowlbertos Media



Design
Dashboard stream
Quick create
Custom categories
Timeline
Drag and drop
Layout options
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priority scheduling
Custom statuses
Search filters
Multiple assignees
Multi-management
UI/UX design tools
Email notifications
Tagging
Insert images with text
Assign comments
Internal chat
File share
Mockup comments
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Pricing
Free
Free Pro Trial
Professional
Enterprise
8.1 Total Score
18 reviews
Love this company

Basecamp gets the job done. We are amazed at how snappy and reliable this platform is. The only weaknesses are features and integrations.

8.1Editor's score
Design
6.8
Functionality
7.6
Speed and reliability
10
Price
8.1
6.1User's score
Design
6
Functionality
5.7
Speed and reliability
7
Price
6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

19 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Kevin Saunders
    November 16, 2016 at 1:20 am
    3.35
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    70

    Overall this tool worked great when our company first started. Now that my team is growing I fear that we will need to start looking for tools with more features. We love Basecamp and our training is minimal. Hopefully, Basecamp adds more features but I do not personally see them doing so.

    + PROS: Very easy to use. Adoption for my team was great! Fast and no bugs! Decent price
    - CONS: I wish they would update this! Need more features
    Helpful(4) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Blake Garrity
    November 18, 2016 at 3:28 pm
    3.85
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    70

    This tool is great for group collaboration! Simple and easy to learn.

    + PROS: Very Intuitive and simple UI. Easy to collaborate.
    - CONS: Price point is a little high for minimal features in my opinion. Not customizable. Does not allow for multiple assignees.
    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. Pam Hutchins
    November 22, 2016 at 5:07 pm
    3.6
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Hands down the best bang for your buck. Our team has been using basecamp since its early days and I will admit they were lacking in some functions but this year they released basecamp 3 which I couldnt be happier. The fact that basecamp works across on all devices is great, the ios/android app allows us to stay connected 24/7

    Helpful(3) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Jaques Fervan
    November 26, 2016 at 4:46 pm

    not worth any $

  5. Pravin Modise
    December 3, 2016 at 5:52 pm
    2.1
    Design
    10
    Functionality
    10
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    50

    Decent price for a “pro” tool but we could get away using free options

    + PROS: Speed and simple
    - CONS: Basic design, basic feature
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(2)You have already voted this
  6. Eddie Ayres
    December 6, 2016 at 4:11 am
    3.75
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    80

    we were recently recommended basecamp and have been using it for a few months now. it has been good so far but as we grow we are discovering features that are lacking 🙁

    + PROS: free trial, unlimited users
    - CONS: no api or integrations, cannot track project time
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Joseph Ayers
    December 23, 2016 at 2:54 pm
    1.25
    Design
    20
    Functionality
    20
    Speed and reliability
    40
    Price
    20

    Not sure why people love this app

    + PROS: reliable
    - CONS: a cheaply made product
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(2)You have already voted this
  8. Amit Patel
    December 30, 2016 at 3:33 pm
    3.6
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    70

    Basecamp is a great software if you’re looking for something very, very simple and basic. However, due to the simplicity of this tool I find that it acts as more of an email thread than anything due to the lack of numerous features.

    + PROS: Very simple. I like the catch up button. This allows you to catch up on a project, if you aren't fully involved in it.
    - CONS: A lot of features missing. Live chat is a add-on feature and doesn't come free which I find absurd. No Gantt Charts as well. Unlike similar software programs, Basecamp does not allow you to personalize your account by changing color schemes or inserting your company logo.
    Helpful(4) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Erica Rose
    January 24, 2017 at 4:12 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    80

    Basecamp has taken our small business to the next level by allowing us the ability to create project level to do lists that our entire team can see as well as be notified. We can even set timelines for tasks to get completed and due dates to ensure that everyone can determine the importance of each task and the urgency related with those tasks.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(1)You have already voted this
  10. Terry Holder
    March 7, 2017 at 1:29 am
    2.6
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    50

    Basecamp is a goood place to keep updates and info on project status and team member contributions.

    + PROS: We used this software as a central location that is relatively easy to understand and browse. Good assignment lists and checklists.
    - CONS: This software was just too simple and not much of a project management tool. I felt it was an extra step for communication, without adding any real value.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Rahcel Acosta
    March 27, 2017 at 5:31 pm
    2.1
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    20

    Basecamp lets the right people see what’s going on in a very timely manner. It also allows us to track where critical moments happen in the event things don’t go as planned. The app could use a little brushing up and it would definitely be in the top 3 of project management software

    + PROS: Decently organize and simple to navigate. Available through mobile and PC
    - CONS: Price, Lack of useful features and abundance of useless tools
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. Dez Blanchfield
    April 19, 2017 at 3:40 pm
    3
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    50

    Basecamp does the simple things well but that is about it.

    + PROS: Simple and works well. The site is very fast and reliable as well. You can count on Basecamp to look exactly how it did 5 years ago. (Not sure if that is a pro or con)
    - CONS: Basecamp does not have all the necessary features. They take keeping it simple too far in my opinion. Decent tool but most everyone is going to want something better.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  13. Lane Bofill
    June 30, 2017 at 2:01 am
    2.5
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    30
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    60

    Its very intuitive and extremely easy to use. It’s allowed us to increase communication and eliminate a lot of emailing back and forth. However, Basecamp does email A LOT with updates. Unfortunately, this tool is just too basic for us at this time. We really looking for a software that can grow with us.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  14. Monica Means
    July 13, 2017 at 10:15 pm
    3
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    Basic, simple tool. There’s no other way to describe Basecamp.

    + PROS: Easy and straightforward to use.
    - CONS: Cannot add someone to a discussion once it has been created. Storyboard and UI needs improvement
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  15. Bethanny Symons
    July 28, 2017 at 12:08 pm
    3
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    50

    It was clean and easy to use. A good place to store images and have conversations. Over time a lot of our conversations moved over to Slack but Basecamp was still ideal for a longer form thought. It has been tough to get our group all using it and the interface could use an uplift.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  16. Robert Hackney
    August 9, 2017 at 12:46 pm
    3.85
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    70

    Our go-to software for project management. Could use some updates to make it a little more user friendly

    + PROS: Easily compartmentalize, Share various workstreams in groups, Assign tasks, email updates.
    - CONS: Would really like Gantt Charts.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  17. Daniel Turner
    August 28, 2017 at 1:21 pm
    3
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    Really love this tool for communication. Wish there was more advanced project management features as it feels more like another form of email.

    + PROS: The calendar is pretty nice and being able to see all deadlines across projects is very helpful.
    - CONS: Admin gets automatically added to every project. If you are the Admin you will end up being on projects you are not really involved if you share the account with other departments.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  18. Savannah Lowder
    September 20, 2017 at 3:27 pm
    4.5
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    90

    I like that things can be centralized on one website and that you could have multiple projects going on at once.

    + PROS: Easy to use, I love the calendar view, does a great job at controlling who sees what. Great for planning ahead and forecasting for future events.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  19. Trevor Gee
    October 10, 2017 at 4:40 pm
    3.1
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    We quickly outgrew this software. While the on-boarding is easy and it improves collaboration with team members, it’s not a very advanced project management solution.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  20. Lbrack@gmail.com
    October 19, 2017 at 3:34 pm
    Comment awaiting for approval
    3.75
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Basecamp is very helpful in that its helped to improve our collaboration across multiple teams. Unfortunately, the layout of the app isn’t conducive to productivity.

    + PROS: Supports a wide variety of integrations with other apps and services.
    - CONS: Very weak reporting options.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare