Trello Review


Boards to alleviate boredom

Increase productivity and improve collaboration with Trello’s boards, lists, and cards.


Trello Review Image

Bottom Line

Trello is a Kanban tool built to encourage communication across team members and improve your workflow. This application brings transparency to a single project using categorized tasks, to-do-lists, and due dates within one clean interface.

This software allows it’s users to review projects and collaborate in real-time. Trello keeps everyone informed through task assignments, activity log, and email notifications to ensure that nothing gets left behind. Unfortunately, the tool is not very robust and could be seen as a replacement for email due to it’s lack of resource management, scheduling, and reporting. We feel that Trello is a combination of Basecamp’s social media-like interface with Asana’s basic functionality.

The onboarding process and ease of use is unbelievable thanks to a simple layout and instructions! The graphical nature and drag-and-drop functionality is very intuitive. Trello is free flowing and often referred to as a sticky-note filled whiteboard making it easy for anyone pickup (even your mom)!

Trello offers some awesome features such as customizable permissions, the ability to copy boards/cards and create templates for common projects or task, and unlimited file attachments. Their Card Aging Power-Up feature is by far my favorite. This feature enables you to see cards that have not been touched in awhile.

If you’re a start-up this is the tool for you as Trello seems to be geared more towards smaller teams. If you’re looking for a software that your team can grow with, I’m not sure this solution will be able to scale as larger projects with higher volume can become chaotic within the UI.

They offer an impressive free forever plan, however, if you’re looking for more functionality and integrations it’ll cost you. I would recommend reaching out to a Trello rep if you’re wanting to pay on a monthly basis as the pricing is not completely clear on the website.

Trello is a great application that can increase organization amongst projects and team members and improve your overall productivity. If ease of use and basic functionality are your top priorities in a project management software this tool would be great for you.

7.6 Total Score
33 reviews
So Easy, Your Mom Can Use It

Trello is a beefed-up to do list that improves productivity thanks to it’s effortless onboarding process and intuitively simple interface.

7.6Editor's score
Design
7
Functionality
9
Speed and reliability
8
Price
6.5
7.2User's score
Design
7.2
Functionality
6.1
Speed and reliability
7.1
Price
8.6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
back to menu ↑

Pros and cons


PROS:
  • Fast onboarding
  • Intuitive interface
  • Templates
  • Real time updates
  • Free forever option
  • Agile

CONS:
  • Missing functionality
  • Does not scale
  • No task dependencies
  • No reporting
  • No calendar


back to menu ↑

Pricing

Starting from: FREE
Pricing model: Monthly and annually
Free trial of pro version: Unavailable

Free
Unlimited boards, members, checklists, and attachments.
Attach files up to 10MB from your computer
Link any file from your Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, or OneDrive
One free “Power-Up” per board

Business Class – $9.99/user/month
Unlimited Power-Ups
Unlock third party integration
Attach files up to 250MB
User/teammember control
Priority support

Enterprise – $20.83
Single Sign-On
2-Factor Authentication
Personalized onboarding assistance
File encryption at rest

back to menu ↑

Contact Info

back to menu ↑

FAQ

What integrations does the app offer?

  • Elegantt
  • Slack
  • Marker
  • G-Suite
  • OneDrive
  • See more

What customer support options are offered?

  • Email
  • Community
  • Documentation
  • Training sessions

What languages does App support?

English, Portuguese, French, Spanish, German, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish, Russian, Polish, Hungarian, Ukrainian, Czech, Dutch, Italian, Turkish, Thai, Japanese, Traditional Chinese, Simplified Chinese and Vietnamese



Design
Dashboard
Quick task create
Custom hierarchy
Drag and drop
Different views
Calendar
Templates
Platform
Web
Mobile
Chrome Extension
Desktop
Features
Reports/Analytics
Priorities
Custom statuses
Sort and filter
Multiple assignees
Multi-task manage
Smart notifications
Tags
Rich text
Assign comments
File assets
Resource management
Time tracking
Task linking
Issue tracking
Start and due dates
Agenda
Recurring tasks
Other
24/7 support
Wiki
Multi-language
Machine learning
Pricing
Free
Trial
Professional
Enterprise
7.6 Total Score
33 reviews
So Easy, Your Mom Can Use It

Trello is a beefed-up to do list that improves productivity thanks to it’s effortless onboarding process and intuitively simple interface.

7.6Editor's score
Design
7
Functionality
9
Speed and reliability
8
Price
6.5
7.2User's score
Design
7.2
Functionality
6.1
Speed and reliability
7.1
Price
8.6
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

GET THE LATEST UPDATES

We will only send you relevant updates

33 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Bob Weaver
    August 15, 2017 at 12:18 pm
    3.5
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    80

    Trello boards are really easy to setup and also to use, even people who have never used it can use it’s basic functionalities within minutes.

    + PROS: Helps you and your team stay organized and bring transparency to teams. Free and unlimited boards and cards. Very fast and real time.
    - CONS: They might have to update the design a little bit to stay current.
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. Tonya Hendley
    August 17, 2017 at 3:18 pm
    3
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    It’s very easy to get started, and very flexible in allowing you to gather and organize information. Unfortunately, it’s suited for only high level idea and project management.

    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  3. Tyler Strauss
    August 18, 2017 at 1:50 pm
    2.75
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    60

    Good tool to help improve your workflow on small projects.

    + PROS: Fast onboarding, flexible, helps you organize and prioritize, access permissions, keyboard shortcuts
    - CONS: Could have more templates/structure, at times can look overwhelming, have to pay for integrations
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  4. Josh Byrd
    August 22, 2017 at 2:53 pm
    3.25
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    70

    Great way to stay organized and extremely easy to get started with this app

    + PROS: Trello can really keep you organized through the use of labels, check lists, and due dates. There are a lot of integrations to choose from.
    - CONS: You can only connect to one integration if you are on the free version it would be nice if you could connect to a few more. To get any advanced features you have to upgrade.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  5. Allison Vita
    August 24, 2017 at 12:42 pm
    3.6
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    100

    I like the easy to use interface and the ability to arrange your work in any manner that suits you. You can create and organize as many or as few projects/cards as you want. We’re currently using the free version but find that a lot of the key features we need are with the business class package. I wish they had a little bit more project management functionality within it’s free version.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. Gregg Costa
    August 25, 2017 at 12:29 pm
    3
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    90

    Trello is a good Kanban tool for agile teams.

    + PROS: Very simple and easy to use. Really like the offline mode.
    - CONS: UI seems dated to me. You need to have good board management in order to stay organized with this solution. Occasionally slow.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. Meagan Hamilton
    August 29, 2017 at 1:03 pm
    3.85
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    This tool has really helped our team keep track of tasks and make sure nothing slips through the cracks.

    + PROS: The thing I love best about it is how easy it is to find the pieces that make up my projects. Individual cards go into lists, which appear on boards. It's just as simple as pinning notes to a board, but digital.
    - CONS: Be careful when setting up your notifications as you may get initially flooded with email updates that you may not necessarily want to get. I'd like the checklists to appear on the front of cards sometimes, rather than clicking in to see the details.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. Prasanth Kumar
    August 30, 2017 at 1:06 pm
    3
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    80

    A lot more advanced features could be added to make this app a better project management software.

    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. Laura Winters
    September 4, 2017 at 12:49 pm
    3
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    70

    It’s definitely worth trying, the learning curve is so low that you’ll figure out pretty quickly if it meets your needs. It’s been so helpful for managing my workload. I would like more templates/structure for cards. I can copy checklists across cards, but have to manually copy and paste text often.

    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. Luke Neely
    September 5, 2017 at 8:44 pm
    3.35
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Although Trello keeps you focused on the tasks you need to complete, it lacks visibility into overall progress for multiple projects or portions within a big project.

    Kanban boards are perfect for keeping track of what needs to be done, but they become even more powerful when you combine them WITH a Gantt Chart that gives you visibility into the overall plan.

    It’s important to provide your team with a tool that everyone can use in their own way, or at least has the function to do so.

    Within every project (or non project) there is a logical progression of taking something big (like building a rocket ship), and breaking it into manageable pieces (finding a team of astronauts to fly, building the ship, selecting the fuel, coordinating a projected launch date).

    If you were to use Trello to carry out something of that magnitude it wouldn’t be a good choice of a tool because it does not allow visibility of your overall progression, and only the smaller tasks.

    But if you were to use Trello as your daily personal planner, or small personal project I think it’s perfect.

    For visibility into an overall plan I recommend Projectplace.

    + PROS: *Super Easy To Pick Up *Kanban Boards For Planned, Working On, Done (Great Visual)
    - CONS: *Lacks Visibility Into Overall Progress *Not Great For Big Projects Or Multiple Projects At Once *Lack Of Visibility Features Could Cause You To Look Into Tools That Provide Such - Resulting In More Tools
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Barry Hartman
    September 6, 2017 at 1:55 pm
    2.6
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    20
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    70

    Trello is an easy-to-use solution that can get your team collaborating in minutes. Unfortunately, it’s missing advanced project management features to make this solution an effective project management tool.

    + PROS: Almost no learning curve so it's fast to invite new team members to a board and get them started.
    - CONS: Less bells and whistles than some other task management platforms, I would like more templates/structure for cards, No integrations unless you're in the paid plan. Due dates could be improved.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  12. Rana Lubis
    September 8, 2017 at 1:43 pm
    3.75
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    Great simple, free tool to organize projects in an intuitive way.

    + PROS: Easy to use, free, able to organize projects quickly, Ability to create multiple to do lists with due dates, flexible.
    - CONS: Only basic functionality with free version, no integrations, UI seems dated, no excel output, wish I could integrate with my outlook calendar.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(1)You have already voted this
  13. Brittian Greening
    September 12, 2017 at 1:25 am
    3.1
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    I really like the ease of use you get with Trello. It’s easy to add new cards and drag cards from one board to another. Don’t have to be a technical person to pick up the platform. At times the web version sometimes runs a bit slow. I also wish it didn’t take several steps to delete a card.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  14. Karah Gant
    September 13, 2017 at 3:09 pm
    3.35
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    60

    Trello helps you prioritize your work a little better. Be sure team members are all on the same page when using the platform.

    Also, be careful when setting up your notifications..you can be flooded with emails that you may not want to receive.

    + PROS: Collaborate easily in real time on assigned tasks and projects using boards and to-do lists. Assign, complete, and comment on tasks keeps us all accountable and on track.
    - CONS: I don't like the archive feature..would rather just see the task as completed. Can begin to feel cluttered.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  15. Darren Fike
    September 22, 2017 at 2:58 pm
    3.35
    Design
    50
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    60
    Price
    90

    Easy and quick way to track projects and status. Lacking a way to get a high level overview of all boards.

    + PROS: -easy to use interface -ability to arrange your work in any manner that suits you -set deadlines -assign tasks -drag and drop functionality -agile boards
    - CONS: -cannot have multiple boards and cards showing from one screen -lacking an overview -can only use one power-up with the free version -I wish there were more variety in how you can categorize a task or view completed tasks
    Helpful(2) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  16. Kay Calandruccio
    October 10, 2017 at 4:51 pm
    4.1
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    80

    Helps our team stay on top of things

    + PROS: Setting up lists and cards is intuitive Easy to use Gives an easy to follow view of project progress to all parties involved.
    - CONS: Print and export functionality isn't great on free version (I'm sure this is on purpose). Tagging feature can be a hassle.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  17. scook82@gmail.com
    October 17, 2017 at 4:32 pm
    4.25
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    80
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    90

    Trello helps our team to manage the project successfully. It let us assign activities to the team and they can move it to various pipelines based on project status. We have seen a better project management after moving to Trello. I hate that there is no recurring tasks offered on free version.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  18. Adam Mauney
    October 18, 2017 at 2:42 pm
    4.35
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    My team loves using Trello. It’s intuitive and easy to use. However, as our projects get bigger our boards get messier.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  19. Colin Sawyer
    October 26, 2017 at 12:45 pm
    4.25
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    It’s very easy to use, and the interactivity between the team is very good.

    + PROS: Easy to use, and the way that boards and lists and cards are organized makes it easy to keep track of a wealth of information and projects. The team features are great for a work team and the card deadlines and filtering etc make the software pretty robust
    - CONS: The only thing I can think of is that I would like more visual customization options in the free version of Trello. More customization is available with an upgraded plan.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  20. s.finch@outlook.com
    October 31, 2017 at 2:40 pm
    3.85
    Design
    100
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    It lets us communicate with one another and organize projects so it’s clear what’s being worked on and what’s ahead

    + PROS: Trello is a super easy, friendly to use project management. I'm not a project manager but I find it convenient to organize my agenda.
    - CONS: Not a lot of functionality
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  21. Debra Johnson
    November 6, 2017 at 3:50 pm
    3.85
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    100

    It’s great for managers to keep track of progress!

    + PROS: Being able to create trello boards makes it easy to keep track of ideas as well as progress. Assigning other users to boards makes it easy to assign tasks which can then be marked as complete.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  22. Santiago Iniguez
    November 17, 2017 at 4:01 pm
    3.85
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    100

    Good way to keep track of things

    + PROS: I use Trello with a large team working in different locations and it is really great to see who was doing what, and where the project was at.
    - CONS: Some of the user interfaces and capabilities are a little clunky, and took me a bit to get used to how I do things
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  23. bdrexler@gmail.com
    November 24, 2017 at 4:15 pm
    4
    Design
    80
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    90

    Great project management system!

    + PROS: Every intuitive and task oriented. I have been using Trello for blog production, assign task to my assistance and many other activities. The cool element is that you can adapt every board to your process.
    - CONS: It doesn't allow you to navigate to Google Drive. You will have to find documents by their name. Also, get into the setting is sometimes confusion for some users.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  24. Cory Wells
    December 6, 2017 at 11:23 pm
    3.85
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    80

    Trello is very easy to use, and great for keeping track of ideas. I enjoy the ease of use the most about about the tool. Users can easily organize their thoughts and to-do lists. Trello also makes it east to track progress. I would like to be able to customize my boards a bit more, such as more color options. I would also like to be able to have more control over sizing of text boxes.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  25. Guillermo Diaz
    December 14, 2017 at 4:04 pm
    3.75
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    70
    Price
    90

    Start simple with small projects and lists and grow as you become comfortable. Add your team members early to get team buy-in. Be smart about your lists. Too many makes a project too broad. Consider splitting larger projects into separate boards.

    + PROS: I love the drag-and-drop from list to list and from top to bottom within a list. I love being able to add attachments and handle to-dos. I love that I can share some boards and keep others private. I like that I can assign specific cards to members of my team. It's easy to add new cards, new lists, and even new boards.
    - CONS: I don't like that there's not yet a mechanism to nets boards. Would be cool if I coud create a list in a 'parent' board whose contents are a separate board marked as a 'child'.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  26. Ryan Lafferty
    December 20, 2017 at 8:01 pm
    3.85
    Design
    70
    Functionality
    60
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    It’s clean, it’s fast, it does what you want

    + PROS: It's simple enough when you need it, but functionality you expect is always right where you expect it.
    - CONS: I wish there was more of a system for showing how old individual posts are. There is an aging feature, but it's not pretty and it ages faster than I'd like.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  27. Katie Morris
    December 28, 2017 at 9:14 pm
    3.85
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    There’s a lot to like with Trello. You can make lists for projects and add cards for specific items that need to be done. Each card can be assigned to someone if needed and it’s easy to see who it is assigned to. It is also very simple to move items between lists, just click and drag. Checklists can be added with due dates and status updates can be shared with others. All of this is with the free version of Trello. It’s not the most visually appealing, but maybe I just haven’t played around with it enough to make changes. If you’re not sure how you want to organize your projects and lists, it can be a bit daunting at first.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  28. Monte Merz
    January 11, 2018 at 7:07 pm
    3.6
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    A good way to manage tasks

    + PROS: I am able to look on a board and know exactly where each task lies, what comes next, and which team member is assigned.
    - CONS: I don't like the fact that you can only view task one way. When you get into a few dozen per board, it can become tedious to find what you need and alternative views would remedy that.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  29. Scott mueller
    January 19, 2018 at 7:08 pm
    3.6
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    50
    Speed and reliability
    80
    Price
    100

    Great tool. My team just needs a little more functionality than what they offer right now.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  30. Patricia Scheer
    January 30, 2018 at 5:38 pm
    4.5
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    90

    Very easy to use for something I use each and every day

    + PROS: Trello makes it easy for the company I work for to list bugs and issues with our app so that all team members can easily view them and respond to them accordingly.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  31. Janet Hodges
    February 13, 2018 at 7:42 pm
    2.85
    Design
    60
    Functionality
    40
    Speed and reliability
    50
    Price
    80

    Trello is a good tool for organized people to manage activities across multiple projects.

    + PROS: It is visual and I can capture all thoughts about a particular piece of content in one card. I think of it as my virtual accordion folder for all my stuff.
    - CONS: Sometimes I wished that there were list views like other tools.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  32. Taylor Dixon
    February 21, 2018 at 7:03 pm
    4.75
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    90
    Speed and reliability
    100
    Price
    100

    Great, Needs Some Customizability

    + PROS: Trello is a whiteboard. It can adapt to whatever you needs you want it to fit. It's a godsend for project management and collaborating.
    - CONS: It needs better mobile clients. The gestures/shortcuts aren't intuitive. You can't customize the shortcuts which can be bummer at times.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  33. Michelle Cruz
    February 28, 2018 at 1:59 pm
    4.35
    Design
    90
    Functionality
    70
    Speed and reliability
    90
    Price
    100

    Great integration with management platforms via API to have a better visualization on the progress of the project. The features available on free version is a great starting point for any company size. The missing feature to have ‘card templates’ to make it easier to create recurrent tasks.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

Leave a reply

GET THE LATEST UPDATES
Compare items () compare